The Day Has Come

Posted: August 23, 2016 in Uncategorized

IMG_2440

I had prayed for this day to come for 5 years. Once it came and I sat in it, I wasn’t sure how I felt. Emotions dwelling my being with a sense of confusion. Excitement for the stories that would come after the day was coming to an end. Sadness because the sounds had changed. It was quieter, this certain laughter and silliness was missing.

Five years ago God called me way out of my comfort zone and actually  into something I would have never been courageous enough to do on my own. My lack of confidence in myself, my own selfish desires and the many fears of just messing it all up would have never empowered me to do such a thing.

Sometimes in life God knows, wait let me change that, all the time in life God knows what is best for us. He knows what we are capable of. That is why He takes us to these crazy places and journeys we would never step into ourselves.

Many of you today may be like me 5 years ago stepping into an unknown journey. A journey set before you that quite frankly, fear has crept in waiting to cripple you from ever beginning. Doubt has began to steal your joy. Anger turned to bitterness that affects those around you because, well, this wasn’t your plan. I want to encourage you today in it all, that 5 years from now you will be quite amazed at the person you really are. There is a person inside of all of you that is waiting to be exposed. There is a person you never knew existed just waiting for the big reveal. There is so much more to you, to your person, than you can even imagine. Although many lies are whispering, be like a roaring lion protecting your cubs and jump into the battle claiming the victory within your mission. There is more to you. There is more in you.

Others of you are right where I am today. The day I have prayed for 5 years and are like, now what? I thought I wanted this. But when I began to pray for this 5 years ago I were a different person. Today I am changed because I not only accomplished but excelled along my journey and even came to love it day by day. You do not know what the next hour brings because things are so different. Change has injected your territory and again you may find yourself at a place of wonder. Be encouraged that although one journey has come to an end another one awaits to begin. Remember the past journey and leap into this next season with the confidence you were created to carry each day.

Kiki Post I have been changed forever through our last 5 years together as your mommy but even more so as your teacher. I was given the blessing of being in your presence learning from you daily for the past 1,825 days. Laughing together because neither one of us knew how to answer the problem, praying together for each other, praying for people we knew who were hurting or even friends that would be standing by your side on this very first day, today, having some really tough days and some really great ones as well, celebrating when it finally clicked and you learned the very same thing about yourself that God was teaching me (you can do this, there is more in you), days where we would need to show Grace over and over again. Realizing that we have spent 43,800 hours in these moments leaves me in awe. In awe I stand that HE chose us baby girl for that amazing journey together.

Today as you begin a new journey going to school for the first time in 5 years, since moving to  Ethiopia, I have so many mixed emotions. I am happy that God finally answered our prayers, as we waited not understanding why it was a no again,to getting into school although we had fasted. In that happiness comes a bit of sadness because I am going to miss absolutely everything about you. Yes, even the little messes you leave behind, my little messy princess. I know there will be days when I just wish I had to yell at you to remind you to do something you had quickly forgotten to do. Baby girl I have such a peace on this day knowing that this is exactly where you are supposed to be. I sit here thinking about what you are doing, what have you already lost, who you are laughing with, if you are brave enough to jump into conversations or if you are sitting on the sideline quietly waiting for someone to speak to you first, have you had the chance to go and love on the underdog today, the one that you noticed was made fun of or the one who is carrying a burden you can see? I can not wait for you to get home and just sit and listen to it all.

May our Heavenly Father look down and be pleased with your walk daily as you my brave warrior embrace this new adventure. May The Holy Spirit that dwells inside of you reveal to you so much more about yourself through this opportunity. May our sweet Jesus look down and say Good job my little brave one, good job.

I believe in you. Believe in yourself.

PS the very first thing I did when I got home was just go sit in your bed. Looking at your room, your things, your mess. Theory came in and we played on your bed. It just felt like that was the place we needed to begin our first day without you.

love,

Mommy

Comments
  1. Donna Ball says:

    I know it is hard to let them go, but you raised her with the love of a mom but more the love of Jesus Christ our Lord and Savior. He will never leave her or forsake her, she is His, and nothing can take that away from her. She will live the life that will make you proud, spreading her wings to see all that the Lord has planned for her. Sure she will make mistakes , we all have and will. But that bungie (sp) cord He has on her will always snap her back. I thank God for you being in this girl’s life and giving her a great and blessed start on this journey. God Speed to her and you all as the journey begins. love Donna Ball

  2. jkshank2013 says:

    Ok, hello big mama crocodile tears happening over here! I know what a journey this has been for you all, and reading this simply amplified it in more detail. Kiki is going to break molds, climb mountains and tear down walls… All with you, Trent and most importantly God by her side! What a sweet letter. I’m assuming you gave it to her? My kids start school on Monday… I think the first thing I do when I get back home is sit on each of their beds and write them both a letter. Thank you for sharing your story! Love to all the Post’s!

Leave a Reply

